top of page

Fourth of July Wisdom

This 4th of July I hiked up to the Wisdom Tree overlooking Hollywood, the Valley, and the rest of L.A. It was a beautiful spot to celebrate and watch fireworks from all around the city.

I took the picture below with my new Canon Rebel T3i, and it captures the mood at the top of the mountain: people united together to celebrate the birth of our nation.

But the fact that the tree in the photo is called the "Wisdom Tree" prompted me to think of wisdom in the light of our nation's recent events regarding #blacklivesmatter and ask myself, "do I have it?"

So I am endeavoring to listen to my black brothers and sisters, hear their stories, and learn from them. Over the past few years, I've been learning that I don't know as much as I thought I did. As a white man growing up with black friends in post-segregation America, it was too easy for me to assume that Dr. King's dream had already been fully realized.

A good friend of mine said, "No black person wants to just make white people feel bad for being white--we want unity." I want unity too. And while I acknowledge and celebrate the progress that has been made from dark times in the past, I am sorry for not realizing that there is much more to do.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page